Who are the winners of the Georgia Senate 2022 primary? Stage set for general election

The Georgia Senate main election results are in, placing the phase for normal elections in Chatham County.

This year, Democratic primaries took place in District 1 and District 2 with the latter holding the only Republican main.

Two Democrats challenged Republican incumbent Ben Watson, who assumed workplace in 2015. 4 candidates — two Democrats and two Republicans — ran for Lester Jackson’s open up seat soon after the lengthy-time senator elected to campaign for State Labor commissioner instead of heading up for re-election.

Election success: Race-by-race success for nearby and statewide contests

Examine Additional: Who is managing for Ga Senate in the 2022 major?

GA principal election: Polls are shut, vote tally begins in Savannah, Chatham County

Election Working day concerns: Chatham’s Election Day complications stemmed from products, electrical problems: elections chief

Acquire a nearer glance at the winners of each race underneath.

Georgia Senate District 1

Georgia Sen. Ben Watson, R-Savannah

Ga Sen. Ben Watson, R-Savannah

Incumbent Sen. Ben Watson, who won workplace in 2014, faced no opposition in the Republican primary and will deal with Democratic prospect James “Jay” Jones in the November basic election.

James "Jay" Jones

James “Jay” Jones

Jones defeated his opponent, Andrew Robert Niquette, with 78.95% of the votes.

Jones serves as the chairman of the Chatham Democratic Committee and formerly sat on the Chatham County Fee. He mounted an unsuccessful marketing campaign for Chatham Commission chairman in 2020, getting rid of to Chester Ellis.

Ga Senate District 2

Republican Clinton Younger and Democrat Derek Mallow will facial area off in November to stand for District 2 in the Georgia State Senate.

Derek Mallow

Derek Mallow

Young defeated Ken Yasger in the Republican main with 55.93% of the vote. Mallow defeated opponent Orlando Scott with 65.61% of the vote in the Democratic key.

Related: Household Rep. Derek Mallow announces his run for Georgia Senate seat

Mallow joined the Ga Property in 2021 after winning a 2020 election runoff towards Anne Westbrook by 19 votes. Mallow is a champion for more educational funding and needs to even more extend Medicaid and legal justice reform. He also wishes to deal with the require for reasonably priced housing.

“I’m grateful to all of the voters … appreciative of my house district who overwhelming voted for me to be their state senator. To my opponent Orlando Scott, I’m thankful for jogging an astounding campaign and a cleanse race,” Mallow explained. “Now as I go ahead to November, and you see the turnout that I had in the principal, we’ll be managing to conquer the Senator-elect in November.”

Clinton Young

Clinton Young

Younger switched get-togethers to run for the Senate publish after a unsuccessful bid to get a Ga Home seat in 2020 and 2021 elections. He is a armed forces veteran and a retired vending device business enterprise operator.

Ga Senate District 4

Billy Hickman

Billy Hickman

Sen. Billy Hickman, a Republican from Statesboro, ran unopposed in District 4.

Laura Nwogu is the excellent of life reporter for Savannah Early morning News. Speak to her at [email protected]. Twitter: @lauranwogu_

This report originally appeared on Savannah Morning Information: Georgia Senate primary election outcomes and winners in Chatham County